now blogging at www.katesplates.com.au

Farewell Grace and Gusto … Bonjour Kate’s Plates

Leave a comment

It is mostly with excitement that I introduce to you all my renamed blog … this will be my last post on Grace and Gusto … after this, my publishing home will be Kate’s Plates.

So why the change? I started blogging about eighteen months ago to see if it was something I enjoyed and something I could stick to. I didn’t want to invest too much time and money into a blog before I knew I would take it seriously. It seems I have done that, I’ve loved the learning process (although I do cringe at some of my old posts which won’t make it on to Kate’s Plates!) and I want to keep going. Grace and Gusto was a very personal name and it really does reflect me as a person but it doesn’t mean much to my audience. Some have even confused it with Grace and Gutso! At least that can relate to food!

Kate’s Plates is easier to remember and clearly represents what I write about … food. It came about a few months ago when I realised I had an alarmingly strong passion for collecting vintage plates. Alarming because I’m not yet sure how to get them all home from France to Australia! I may sell them online one day, but for now I’m having too much fun keeping them all to myself. It’s a joy to hunt for them at a local vide grenier (garage sale) or brocante (second hand) store and of course I love plating up delicious food on them. They make my food look beautiful and they all have a story of their own. Last night, I served dinner on a beautiful plate that could be between 65 and 95 years old! Imagine if it could talk! I’d love to know what dishes it’s held and the story behind its previous owners.

In our recent move to Quillan, I got to unpack everything we had stored during our summer roadtrip. It was like Christmas! I left my crockery boxes until last – I had really missed not being able to select one each mealtime. They all arrived safe and sound … except for this one.
broken plate

I must admit I actually shed a tear. This was truly my favourite cake stand. When I first saw it in a brocante shop, I just knew we were meant to be together and it ended up being gifted to me by a family member. I’m sure a few eyes are rolling, but you can see how passionate I am about vintage plates, and why the new blog name works so well.

If you have been subscribing to Grace and Gusto, thankyou. I’ve loved having you on the other end of my posts and have appreciated every comment. I continue to write for myself but it certainly does give me a warm fuzzy when someone else loves what I write too. You will no longer receive notifications from Grace and Gusto, so please head over to www.katesplates.com.au and pop your email address in the top right hand corner to receive future posts from me. I’m about to post a lovely Spiced Zucchini Cake recipe so subscribe now so as not to miss it.

You can also follow Kate’s Plates on Facebook if you’re not already, and also on Instagram.

Thankyou for being with me on this journey so far and don’t forget I love to hear from you so keep the comments and questions coming!

For the last time, with grace and gusto,

kpx

Author: graceandgusto

I'm 34, an Australian mum of 3 kids under 7 (currently living in the South of France) and I love design, cooking, my family (not in that order) and learning new things ...

Leave a Reply

