now blogging at www.katesplates.com.au

Strawberry Chia Jam

1 Comment

You have probably noticed the abundance of beautiful, cheap strawberries at the moment?  I don’t think I’ve ever had so many strawberries in my fridge, but a friend recently left me with a whole lot more and instructions to make her some strawberry jam (she knows what I love to do!).

I’ve never made jam before I must admit, and we don’t have it in the house … too easy to get hooked on the sweetness of commercial jam.  So I took it upon myself to play around with a few versions of jam using chia seeds to thicken and maple syrup to sweeten.  I am loving the result. Here is my Thermomix recipe, but if you don’t have one, just boil it all up in a saucepan using the same times and blend once cooked.

strawberry chia jam logo

Ingredients

3 cups strawberries, leaves removed
2-4 tbsp maple syrup
grated zest of 2 lemons
2 vanilla seed pods, cut into small pieces (use scissors)
3 tbsp chia seeds

Method

Put the strawberries, 2 tbsp of maple syrup, vanilla seed pods and lemon zest into the TM bowl and blitz on speed 6 for 5 seconds.  Cook on Varoma temperature for 25 minutes.

Add the chia seeds and taste to see if you need more maple syrup.  Cook for a further 5 minutes on Varoma temperature.

Pour into sterilised jars and close lid immediately to help create a seal in the lid.  Store in refrigerator.  Enjoy on homemade bread or toast!

With grace and gusto,

kpx

Author: graceandgusto

I'm 34, an Australian mum of 3 kids under 7 (currently living in the South of France) and I love design, cooking, my family (not in that order) and learning new things ...

One thought on “Strawberry Chia Jam

  1. You have a great friend! Can’t wait to taste

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

