now blogging at www.katesplates.com.au

Baghdad Eggs – ode to Queen Stephanie Alexander!

4 Comments

My son’s school is lucky enough to have a Stephanie Alexander Kitchen Garden, which I believe will do wonders for exposing children to real food, how to grow it and how to enjoy cooking with and eating the produce.  I think Queen Stephanie is a pretty special soul and so I feel very comfortable giving her all the glory in this post.  One of my Christmas presents last year was the food bible – Stephanie Alexander’s “The Cook’s Companion”.  What a fabulous book and why didn’t I invest in it sooner?!

She has also written a book dedicated to the food in South-West France.  This is the region we’re planning to live in next year so I just had to have this book … what a treat it will be to read up on a certain providore in a particular village whilst driving through it!  I have a feeling the posts on this blog will come thick and fast whilst I’m there :).

We spent some time in Melbourne over the Christmas-New Year holidays so I tracked down the Richmond Hill Cafe & Larder, where Stephanie was a partner for eight years from 1997.  I loved the ambiance of the French-inspired bistro.  They seem to have perfected the art of 5 star service in a relaxed environment.  I strategically sat looking at the in-house Cheese Room that – luckily for my husband – wasn’t yet open that morning.  He saved himself some time and money I can assure you! So RHCL’s signature dish is Baghdad Eggs.  Its a pretty simple dish really (the good ones always are!) but the combination of cumin, garlic and mint give this traditional bacon and eggs dish a really fresh twist.

baghdad eggs

I couldn’t wait to try this dish at home.  For my version of Baghdad Eggs I skipped the pita bread and kept it fast and simple so you can spoil yourself mid-week.  The result was a delicious twist on my beloved eggs for breakfast.  Give it a try and surprise the family … would love to hear what you think.

Ingredients (serves 1)

2 organic eggs
crushed or finely diced garlic to your tasting (I use 2 cloves)
1-2 tsp ground cumin
juice from 1/2 lemon
1/3 cup natural yogurt
handful mint leaves, roughly chopped
1 tblsp EVOO (extra virgin olive oil)

Method

Heat EVOO in a non stick pan and saute garlic for 30 sec before adding the cumin and lemon juice.
Crack eggs into pan and cook to your liking.  You may wish to add a little more cumin on top of the eggs.
You can serve the eggs on your favourite toast or pita bread, top with yogurt and mint leaves.  Simple!

With grace and gusto,

kpx

Author: graceandgusto

I'm 34, an Australian mum of 3 kids under 7 (currently living in the South of France) and I love design, cooking, my family (not in that order) and learning new things ...

4 thoughts on “Baghdad Eggs – ode to Queen Stephanie Alexander!

  1. What do your kids think of these eggs? I think my husband and I would like them, but I think my smaller kids will need some convincing?

    Like

    • Hi Allana! My kids eat pretty much anything I put in front of them so I think they would love it but when I cooked this dish, I just made it for hubby and I. They just had eggs on my homemade bread 🙂

      Like

  2. had this for breakfast this morning…I never knew eggs could taste so good!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

